SEASON 2022-2023

Grieg: Piano Concerto

Grieg: Piano Concerto

Grieg: Piano Concerto

February 2-19, 2023
Robert Weiss’ Grieg: Piano Concerto

A Norwegian composer and pianist who wrote this piano concerto when he was only 24 years old, Edvard Grieg is widely considered one of the main composers of the Romantic era. “Although we live in a completely different time and place, Grieg’s music shows us that there is still the romantic in all of us.” – Robert Weiss

Additional Ballets

Jerome Robbins’ Afternoon of a Faun with music by Claude Debussy.
Jerome Robbins, who had a lifelong fascination with Nijinsky, took the stylized and sexually charged 1912 Afternoon of a Faun and transposed it into the demure, asexual language of ballet. It is set in an empty studio, where the mirror—in which all dancers watch themselves with love and loathing—is depicted by the fourth wall of stage convention, the audience.

Zalman Raffael’s The Metaphorical Heart with music by Leonard Bernstein.
The Metaphorical Heart represents different depictions of love, including familial love, romantic love, and burdensome love. “My motivation with this piece was not to create a linear story, but to open our minds and hearts
to love, using Bernstein’s highly regarded music.” – Zalman Raffael

Robert Weiss’ The Visitation with music by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart.
“Every artist has a muse. Sometimes they are pleasant, sometimes they are more than one bargained for. No matter
what, in the end they are inspiring.” – Robert Weiss.


Casting will be available 48 hours before the performance.


Buy Tickets by Phone, in Person or Online


By Phone:
Call the Ballet Line at 919.719.0900 or the Ticketmaster Arts Hotline at 800.982.2787

In Person:
The Duke Energy Center for the Performing Arts located at:
2 East South Street, Raleigh, NC 27601

Ticketmaster charges apply.

Bag Policy

Fletcher Opera Theater

Click on map below to view larger.